- WHAT WE DO
- ABOUT PAT CAREY
- CONTACT US
- Call Now 310-526-2237
Most people who get arrested for DUI in California ultimately get charged with two separate misdemeanor offenses:
(1) Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, under California Vehicle Code 23152(a) and
(2) Driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or greater, pursuant to California Vehicle Code 23152(b).
Additional allegations can be added for a higher blood alcohol level or for refusal to submit to testing during your DUI investigation.
The penalty for a first time DUI can be up to 6 months in county jail and a fine of $1,000 (plus court costs).
The fines for this, and many crimes in California, can justify hiring a talented and well respected lawyer like Pat Carey. Although the maximum fine is listed, you should understand that other fees usually cause these fines to triple or even quadruple. Should you chose to represent yourself or chose a cheap lawyer, the results in court could lead to harsher penalties and harsher fines, proving you in fact saved yourself no money at all.
For example, while a District Attorney, Pat Carey trained not only Police Officers, but young Deputy District Attorneys on how to handle DUI cases. With this knowledge, he is able to, in some cases, have the charges reduced or even dismissed. Reduced charges leads to reduced court fines, saving you more money than you would have if you had chosen to represent yourself.